Time Zones in Russia

Time Zones in Russia

Russia spans 11 time zones. At one end of Russia, it could be 8 in the morning and at the other, it's 7 in the evening.

share Share

Russia, the largest country in the world, spans 11 time zones. Notably, it is the only country that has all of its time zones on the mainland. The time zones range from the Kaliningrad Oblast in the west to the Kamchatka Krai in the east. Interestingly, France spans 12 time zones, but this is due to its scattered national territories.

1. Kaliningrad time (KALT) (UTC+2) covers Kaliningrad Region.
2. Moscow time (MSK) (UTC+3) covers Moscow and the European part of Russia.
3. Samara time (SAMT) (UTC+4) covers Astrakhan, Samara, Ulyanovsk and the Saratov regions, as well as the Udmurt Republic.
4. Yekaterinburg time (YEKT) (UTC+5) covers Bashkortostan, the Perm Territory, Kurgan, Orenburg, Sverdlovsk, Tyumen, and Chelyabinsk regions, as well as the Khanty-Mansi and the Yamal-Nenets autonomous areas.
5. Omsk time (OMST) (UTC+6) covers Omsk Region.
6. Krasnoyarsk time (KRAT) (UTC+7) covers the Krasnoyarsk Territory, Altay, Tyva, Kemerovo, Novosibirsk and Tomsk regions.
7. Irkutsk time (IRKT) (UTC+8) covers Buryatia and the Irkutsk Region.
8. Yakutsk time (YAKT) (UTC+9) covers western Yakutia, Transbaikal Territory and Amur Region.
9. Vladivostok time (VLAT) (UTC+10) covers central Yakutia and the Maritime (Primorsky) Territory.
10. Magadan time (MAGT) (UTC+11) covers eastern Yakutia, as well as the Magadan and Sakhalin regions.
11. Kamchatka (PETT) (UTC+12) covers Kamchatka Territory and the Chukotka autonomous area. The time difference with Moscow is 9 hours.

Australia and Volcanoes

The only continent with no active volcanoes is Australia.

Read More
The Yamato Dynasty

The Yamato dynasty of Japan traces its origins to 660 A.D., making them the oldest continuous hereditary monarchy in the world.

Read More
Saudi Arabia

There are no rivers in Saudi Arabia.

Read More
Lakes in Canada

Canada has more lakes than any other country.

Read More